North Stars Beacon #1 – September 2nd 2011

Welcome to what I hope will become the “go to” source for North Battleford North Stars news and information. Over the coming months this blog will grow and develop so please stick with me as I come to terms with a new blogging platform as well as a new team and new league. I will be in the Battlefords midway through next week and am looking forward to getting down to the business of covering the North Stars and the SJHL.

 

Perhaps this is as good a time as any to introduce myself to North Stars fans. My name is Michael Feeney and I have spent the last 3 years covering two local teams in Fort St John BC. The Junior ‘B’ Huskies and the Senior Flyers. The first two seasons were spent as colour commentator before taking over the reins as play by play voice this past season. I came to radio fairly late in life compared to most of the people I have met in the industry and came to play by play even later. But there is nothing else I would rather be doing than calling hockey games on the radio. I truly have found my calling, pun intended.

 

Over the coming months and years I will strive to provide the best coverage of the North Stars and the SJHL possible. I will do my best to be unbiased and honest in my opinions. And most of all I want to have a lot of fun. I look forward to meeting as many of you as possible so make sure if you see me around the rink you come and say hi and introduce yourselves. If you ever have any feedback, positive or otherwise, I would love to hear it. And because my pet peeve is mispronouncing names I encourage you to correct me if you ever hear me getting a players name wrong.

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

