SJHL AGM

The SJHL AGM took place in Regina over the weekend. For a great recap of what happened check out http://behindthemicblog.blogspot.ca/

Daniel Fink did a great post on the topic so I won’t get too much into the details. I do want to talk about the Showcase weekend being scrapped. Personally I don’t like it. The Showcase was one of the real highlights for me from last season. It’s a great chance to network with other players, coaches and broadcasters. It is also a chance to talk to scouts and league brass. Plus it’s a chance to see a bunch of other teams from the SJHL that maybe I haven’t seen a lot of yet. For a number of reasons I will miss the Showcase.

But if the scouts weren’t coming out in the numbers that the league had hoped it needs to be addressed. So while I am not happy about it personally I understand why the decision was made. Stars President Ray Adelman was at the meeting and he was not in favour of scrapping the Showcase.

Other issues discussed at the meeting included potentially having electronic ticketing as well an update on the SJHL’s marketing plan.

Then there is the schedule. Adelman told CJNB/CJNS that the schedule is being worked on by the coaches today and will likely be released Thursday or Friday. I imagine with a schedule for an entire league delays are always possible as well. But as a broadcaster I am just as excited as the fans to get my hands on the schedule and start analyzing it. You can be I will have a post up when the schedule is released so keep checking back on this site for more.

And tune into CJNB/CJNS for Sports reports in the next day that feature Adelman and his thoughts on the meeting.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

